Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 31st, 2008

Jaipur, Day 4

Today, I have again gone to the school. Since it is the last day of the month, the end of the working month, the school celebrates by having a fun activity day where the senior students (fifth grade) become the teachers and the teachers take a break. They deserve it!

The kids were supposed to play outside in the park (there is one close by), but it rained so hard that we couldn’t go outside. Instead, we sat in the main room of the school and the kids taught me Hindi words and songs. I learned words for fruits, questions, and a song. They asked me to teach them English songs, but I couldn’t remember any! And, of course, I remember them all when I’m not at school. So, I have been keeping a list of them. 

The kids have all seen that I am still wearing Mala’s green bracelet. I have already received a bracelet from a girl named Haseina, earrings from a girl named Afsana and another bracelet from Mala. I feel bad accepting the gifts, as the children do not have that much money and have obviously spent much buying these things. I love them all nonetheless and continue to wear them a lot. There is a picture of Haseina giving me the bracelet (shown below). I am also wearing the earrings that I received. 

The rain continued and the electricity went out. I took many pictures and a video of one of the Hindi songs. 

Here they are:

 

And the video:

Read Full Post »